Awareness


This poem is a result of things that i’ve seen and or have thought of for as long as I can remember. I’m choosing to write about such a troubling topic because I feel not enough people are addressing it. We often miss the signs of depression and anxiety until it’s too late and that doesn’t sit right with me. I have often thought of killing myself in the past and if those who reached out to me didn’t do so, I most certainly would not be here today. I hope as you’re reading this you feel a sort of anxiety and sadness, as if you’re living in someone else’s shoes, as if you’re living in a past me’s shoes and you’re met with this choice because sometimes others feel like there is no other way out, much like I did in the past. Please just be aware and be kind to one another because you can never know what is going on in someone else’s life. Thank you.

Choice

You forget everything
Your body is numb, as if walking through a shallow glacier
No touch, no feeling, no senses
The world around you becomes black as it becomes harder to breath
Suffocating on the very words you wish so desprately to spit out
But you choke and no one can hear you
The blood in your veins boiling like fire
Do you care at all
Do you want to care at all
Reaching out into the void of the safe haven in your mind
Pulling nothing but emptiness back
Not fearing what you’re facing but welcoming it
You take the knife
You tie the noose
You level the bridge
Falling into nothingness that is impossible to journey back from, until you crash
It feels euphoric, to be finished with it all
As it runs slowly through the cracks
No more pain
No more suffering
No more sadness
Nothing but black

©Jawan Herron

Leave a Reply

